News Archive


Summer Fun at the NI Annual Golf Tournament

Twenty four players took part in the annual golf tournament of the Nuclear Institute this summer on 24th July, with six teams of four players representing AMEC, the Office of Nuclear Regulation (ONR), Risktec and NRL at the Portal Premier Golf Club, near Tarporley, Cheshire. 

The event is organised each year by Mike Davies (AMEC) and this is its sixteenth year.  The teams play for the magnificent President’s Bowl, which was donated in 1999 by the President at the time, Mike Robbins. 

This year the players enjoyed warm and dry conditions, although the scoring suggested that most found it hard going. 

The winning team on the day, with a Stableford score of 123, was ONR 1 (see photo). Closely following in second place, with a Stableford score of 121, was NRL (Mike Barber, Gary Cairns, Andy Davies and Mike Proudfoot), and in third place, with a score of 111, was Risktec 1 (Geoff Crook, Mel Davies, John Yates and Philip Peeke-Voute).

Winning Team ONR 1 - (L to R) Evan Bale, Kevin Allars, Peter Watson and Mike Readitt - with Mike Davies presenting the trophy.

Mike Barber (NRL) won the longest drive and Andy Davies (NRL) won nearest the pin.  The prize for best individual score went to Mike Davies (AMEC) with a score of 36 points.  For this, he received the Dave Derbyshire Memorial prize, an engraved claret jug donated by the ONR.  In second place was Kevin Allars (ONR) with a score of 34 points, and in third place was Ian Grayson (AMEC) also with a score of 34 points. 

Organiser Mike Davies expressed thanks to Risktec for donating many dozens of golf balls for the prizes, and to NRL for the umbrellas and golf balls.

Next year’s tournament will be held in the middle of July.  Anyone wishing to enter a team of four for the event should contact Mike Davies at