News Archive


European Nuclear Society - Call for PhD Award nominees

Following the success of previous editions of the ENS PhD Award, the European Nuclear Society as a Learned Society, organises its annual Award to recognise an outstanding PhD thesis work. The ENS High Scientific Council (HSC) acts as the Selection Committee for this prestigious Award.



  1. Each ENS Member Society has the right to nominate one candidate.
  2. Open for candidates, who have obtained a PhD in the field of nuclear science and engineering from a University of a country affiliated to ENS.
  3. Only for candidates, who obtained its PhD degree maximum 36 months before the nomination by the ENS Member Society.


Application details

The call for UK applications is now open and if you would like to apply you will need to include the following documentation:

  • CV, including your email and phone number 
  • A copy of your PhD Diploma/Certificate showing the date it was awarded
  • A recommendation letter (the letter should introduce the PhD work and highlight its significance in the research field: originality, importance and impact of the results)
  • An extended summary of the PhD thesis
  • A copy of any accepted publication directly related to your PhD studies.


Process and deadlines

  • Call is open until 1 February 2022
  • Nominations should be sent to and
  • The winning candidate for the UK will be nominated to ENS by 28 February 2022
  • The HSC will select four shortlisted candidates
  • Nominated candidates will be informed about the selection process results by 30 April 2022
  • In October 2022 the four shortlisted candidates will present their PhD thesis’ results to the HSC in Brussels, Belgium. The HSC will apply commonly accepted selection criteria in the selection process.


Note: candidates are expected to attend the selection in Brussels in person (Covid permitting).



The winner of the prestigious ENS HSC PhD Award will be offered a publication in the Open Access Journal EPJ-N and prize money of 2000€. Abstracts of the nominees may also appear in Nuclear Future (with their permission).

An award ceremony will be organised in conjunction with the ENS Member Society conference.

Find out more about the UK's 2020 winner Dr Steph Thornber of NNL.