News Archive


The Nuclear Institute Annual Golf Tournament 2015


The annual golf tournament of the Nuclear Institute took place this year at the Portal Premier Golf Club, near Tarporley, Cheshire, on 30th July.  Twenty four players took part, with six teams of four players representing Amec Foster Wheeler, the Office of Nuclear Regulation (ONR), Risktec and Morson.  The event is organised each year by Mike Davies (Amec Foster Wheeler) and this is its seventeenth year.  The teams play for the magnificent President’s Bowl, which was donated in 1999 by the President at the time, Mike Robbins. 

The winning team on the day, with a Stableford score of 123, was ONR 1 (Kevin Allars, Evan Bale, Peter Watson and Mike Readitt), repeating the success of last year.  In second place, with a score of 115, was Amec Foster Wheeler, (Mike Davies, Ian Grayson, Mark Starr and Michael Sibanda), and in third place, with a score of 113, was Risktec 1 (Geoff Crook, Mel Davies, John Yates and Philip Peeke-Voute).  My grateful thanks, as always, go to Risktec for donating many dozens of golf balls for the prizes.

The prize for best individual score went to Mel Davies (Risktec) with a score of 33 points.  In joint second place was Mike Readitt (ONR), Kevin Allars (ONR) and John Yates (Risktec) each with a score of 32 points.  Mel received the Dave Derbyshire Memorial prize, an engraved claret jug donated by the ONR.

Next year’s tournament will be held in the second half of July.  Anyone wishing to enter a team of four for the event should contact Mike Davies at