News Archive


Nuclear Institute Welcomes New President

Neil Thomson-1On 4th January 2016 Neil Thomson assumed the role of President of the Nuclear Institute as Rear Admiral Tim Chittenden’s term of office came to a close.

Neil has 35 years of power generation experience holding senior technical and operational positions including plant management, Chief Engineer, Director and CEO roles and a Directorship of the Institute of Non Destructive Testing. He is currently the Senior Technical Advisor in EDF-Energy Generation, which involves advising EDF-Energy on strategic policy matters covering the generation fleet. He has a BSc(Hons) in Physics and the Chalmers Memorial Prize in Physics.

Neil is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics, Fellow of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers, a member of the government Nuclear Innovation Research Advisory Board (NIRAB), the NDA Research Advisory Board and Co-Chairs the National Waste Research Forum.

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to R Adm Chittenden for his leadership over the past three years and the important work that took place in promoting nuclear professionalism and formalising the Nuclear Delta® under his stewardship.

R Adm Chittenden will continue in his role as a trustee of the Nuclear Institute.