The YGN Prize for Outstanding Contribution

Annual YGN Prize

The YGN Prize for Outstanding Contribution is awarded annually to a senior figure in the nuclear sector whose great support to young people in the industry, primarily through the YGN Network, has gone 'above and beyond' expectations. The YGN relies on the support of the prize winners and their peers in order to continue to deliver its portfolio of events, thus together, ensuring a 'bright future for nuclear energy'.

2015 winner - Greg Willets

Greg is currently Vice President (Consultancy) at Amec Foster Wheeler, with responsibility for all aspects of Amec Foster Wheeler’s 450 strong Consultancy business which provides expert advice, regulatory support and technology & innovation solutions utilising Amec Foster Wheeler’s extensive laboratory and test rig facilities. He has 25 years’ nuclear industry experience, including 15 in business leadership positions providing technical consultancy to nuclear new build, reactor operations and decommissioning in civil and defence nuclear across Europe.

In response to receiving the award, Greg said “I’m truly honoured to have been recognised by the YGN. It’s important for everyone to encourage, advise and support the next generation in nuclear to sustain the industry”.

The YGN would again like to thank Greg for his continued support, which has been of great benefit to the nuclear industry’s young generation.

Previous winners of the YGN Prize include:

  • 2014 – Dennis Thompson
  • 2013 – Gareth Davies
  • 2012 – David Powell
  • 2011 – Adrian Bull
  • 2010 – Neil Blundell
  • 2009 – Ian Currie
  • 2008 – Carl Dawson
  • 2007 – Tub Aves
  • 2006 – Dame Sue Ion OBE
  • 2005 – George Jenkins