Nuclear Institute Awards


Pinkerton Prize Winner 2022

104 123

YGN Excellence Prize Winner 2023

Pinkerton Prize

The Pinkerton Prize recognises authors and co-authors of articles of significant technical or scientific merit published in the Nuclear Institute’s bi-monthly Nuclear Future journal.

The prize is awarded in memory of one of the key founder organisations of The Nuclear Institute – the Institute of Nuclear Engineers. Founded in 1959, the Institute of Nuclear Engineers has played a pivotal part in developing professionalism within the nuclear industry.

Previous Winners
  • 2022 –  Alastair Baker, Andrea De Santis, Alex Fells, Timothy N. Hunter, Bruce C. Hanson, Chris Maher, Rob Taylor: 'The development of centrifugal contractors'
  • 2021 – Paul Nevitt, Meridith Sherock, Emma Vernon – ‘Fuelling Net Zero’
  • 2020 – Clara Lloyd, Robbie Lyons, Tony Roulstone: ‘Expanding Nuclear’s Contribution to Climate Change with SMRs’
  • 2019 – Robin Taylor and Gemma Mathers:'Innovation in the aqueous recycling of spent nuclear fuels
  • 2018 – Mike Davies – ‘The qualification of candidate graphites for future high-temperature gas-cooled reactors’
  • 2017: Pinkerton Prize - Harry Edwards, Andrew Jackson, Adam Locke: ‘Modular Civils for Modular Reactors’
  • 2016 - Reuben Holmes, Massimiliano Materazzi, and Brandon Gallagher: ‘Magnox Reprocessing TDN Reactors: Utilising 3D Printing to Re-Design and Test Fluidising Air Nozzles’
  • 2015 –Richard Crawford - ‘Lessons from the Graphite Core Project’
  • 2014: Michelle Nuttall: ‘Criticality aspects of the transport of legacy spent fuels’
  • 2013: Jim Thomson: ‘Fukushima and its consequences’


Young Generation Network Prizes 

The NI Young Generation Network awards two prizes annually, presented at the YGN Annual Dinner and the NI Annual Dinner respectively.