Modelling in Nuclear Science and Engineering 2023

This event will again extend over a day and a half with keynote speakers and presentations from academia and industry on a range of topics including the following:

  • AI, innovation and recent developments in reactor performance and safety modelling
  • Reactor thermal hydraulics, fuel performance, neutronics, criticality, shielding and coolant chemistry
  • Recent developments supporting ANTs, AMRs, SMRs, propulsion and advances in materials modelling
  • Development in uncertainty quantification, sensitivity analysis, data assimilation, reactor systems digital twins
  • Optimisation techniques to support design and process developments
  • Plant extension and end-of-life studies
  • Fuel cycle facilities, decommissioning activities, waste management
  • Multi-physics and multi-scale modelling framework


Abstract and Poster Submissions

The abstract submission process is now open and entries will close on Monday 25th September. 

Abstract Submission Form

Please use the Abstract Template provided to structure your abstract to the required format. Full papers are not required for submission; the abstract is for your intended presentation at the seminar. 

Abstract Template (download)

Poster Submissions: The event is also open to poster submissions and sessions. Authors are asked to clearly identify this in their abstract submissions by selecting the “poster submission” option.



Note: Student NI members should email to book your discounted tickets. 

Ticket Type Price excl. VAT
Earlybird - until 31st August £180
NI Member £200
Non-Member  (Join here) £300
Student NI Member (UG, PGT and PhD) £50
Student Non-Member (Join here) £75
Conference Dinner £50

IMG 2467



Keynote Speakers 

Luis Enrique Herranz

Head of Nuclear Safety Research at CIEMAT

Luis Enrique Herranz  has been a Research Professor since 2015. He has been leading the Unit for Nuclear Safety Research for more than 20 years. He has published more than 150 papers in refereed journals and has made more than 300 contributions in international conferences and workshops.

Since 2019, Luis has been the leader of the Technical Area 2 (Severe Accidents) of SNETP/NUGENIA and was the Chair of the WGAMA (Working Group of Analysis and Management of Accidents) of OECD/NEA between 2016 and 2021. With a strong commitment to teaching and training, he regularly lectures in national and international graduate and postgraduate courses.


Ana Gomez Cobo

Head of Safety Assessment at International Atomic Energy Agency

Ana Gomez Cobo has been working in nuclear safety for over 34 years. From 1995 to 2000 she worked for the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) where she was a technical officer responsible for activities on probabilistic safety analysis, safety performance indicators and safety-related maintenance for nuclear power plants.

Ana joined the Office for Nuclear Regulation (ONR) in 2000 where she has undertaken specialist assessment and project inspection work related to UK's operating reactors and new nuclear build.



Thursday 9th November

Time Session Topics
09:00 Registration  
09:45 Welcome and Introduction  
10:00 Session 1  
11:20 Session 2 Multi-physics and Multi-Scale Modelling Framework
12:50 Lunch  
13:30 Session 3 

AI, Innovation and Recent Developments in Reactor Performance and Safety Modelling

15:20 Session 4 

Fuel Cycle Facilities, Decommissioning Activities and Waste Management

17:00 Close  
Conference Dinner

Friday 10th November

Time Session Topics
09:00 Arrival and networking   
09:30 Session 5 Plant Performance in Accident Conditions and End-of-Life Studies
11:20 Session 6  Reactor Thermal Hydraulics, Fuel Performance, Neutronics, Criticality, and Shielding
12:50 Lunch  
14:00 Session 7 Optimisation Techniques to Support Design and Process Developments
15:00 Close  


Attendance and Logistics

The conference will take place at Imperial College London, Exhibition Rd, South Kensington, London SW7 2BX

The conference dinner will take place at Ognisko Restaurant, 55 Exhibition Rd, London SW7 2PG


Organising Committee
  • Chair: Prof Ali Tehrani FNucI, Office for Nuclear Regulation
  • Prof Christopher Pain, Imperial College London
  • Prof Paul Smith, Jacobs
  • Dr Andrew Buchan, Queen Mary University London
  • Prof Panagiota Angeli, University College London
  • Dr Amir Nourian, University of Salford
  • Dr Tatiana Ivanova - Head of Division of Nuclear Science, OECD Nuclear Energy Agency
  • Dr Mark Bankhead, National Nuclear Laboratory

IMG 2484 crop


 If you are interested in sponsoring this event, please see the packages available in the brochure below. 

Sponsorship Brochure