News & Insights


American Nuclear Society Fellowship for NI President

Dr Fiona Rayment OBE FNucI, President of the Nuclear Institute, has been awarded a Fellowship by the American Nuclear Society (ANS) at its Annual Conference taking place in Las Vegas. 

The Fellowship recognises Dr Rayment as a world-renowned nuclear scientist and engineer whose passion and leadership have enabled advances in nuclear innovation, infrastructure, and talent.

Fiona is currently Special Advisor to the CEO at National Nuclear Laboratory. She has more than 25 years of nuclear industry experience working primarily within operations and strategic planning roles across a number of different nuclear sites, both in the UK and internationally. She is a Chartered Chemist and engineer with a PhD in Chemistry from University of Strathclyde, Glasgow and is a fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering as well as the Royal Society of Chemistry. She has been a Fellow of the Nuclear Institute since 2014.

Fiona has served as a member of Euratom’s Science and Technology Committee, the Idaho National Laboratory's Nuclear Science and Technology Advisory Committee, the American Nuclear Society Board and is immediate past chair of the UK’s Nuclear Skills Strategy Group.

Her other roles across the sector include being an NI Trustee, a member of the Nuclear Industry Council and a member of the Office of Nuclear Regulation Chief Nuclear Inspector’s Independent Advisory Panel.

Fiona said: "What an honour to be recognised by my US friends and colleagues as a Fellow of the American Nuclear Society. It’s even more special to share this honour with Deborah Hill, National Nuclear Laboratory, who also receives this honour today. Two ladies from the UK doing what we can to enable clean sustainable reliable nuclear energy for our current and future needs."