About NI North West

North West Branch

The North West (NW) region has been the centre of nuclear power station design and construction for over 70 years. Our association with nuclear began with the founding of the Department of Atomic Energy (DATEN) design and construction office at Risley which under the directorship of Sir Christopher Hinton was tasked with the design and construction of Calder Hall Power Station.

In 1946 Sir Christopher founded the Risley Nuclear Energy Society (RNES) which, in collaboration with the NW Branches of the British Nuclear Energy Society (BNES) and Institution of Nuclear Engineers (INucE) from 1985, continued its activities in the North West for over fifty years before being incorporated into the NW Branch of the BNES in 1997, and ultimately the NW Branch of the Nuclear Institute (NI),  in 2009.

The NI NW Branch strives to promote the aims of the Nuclear Institute  through an ongoing programme of educational and social events which includes:

  • A programme of evening lectures
  • A speaking competition for young people in collaboration with the YGN
  • Outreach and support to educational activities such as The Big Bang Fair North West and Engineering Your Future
  • Topic focussed workshops
  • Networking events
  • The famed NI North West Branch Annual Dinner (now in its 70th year)

Names of NI North West Branch and Committee members

Chair: Monica Mwanje

Vice-chair: James Rudd

Secretary: Stephen Harrison

Treasurer/ Education & Training (E&T): Melissa Loyley

Communications: James Cunningham

Events: Donna Zammit

YGN Speaking Competition: Melissa Loyley

E&T:  Jamie Pilgrim